Hippopotame

2009

  • Hippopotame

  • Tournée2014_Sudbury_17

  • Tournée2014_Sudbury_25

An encounter with improvised dance

Hippopotame (hippopotamus) is a true expression of improvisation in contemporary dance. The work transports the dancers into a series of movement vignettes in which their bodies and instincts come together, guided by music. With each tableau, a new improvisation is explored. (20 minutes)

Hippopotame is a structured dance improvisation performed to live music. It was created as a didactic work to introduce young audiences to the improvisational movement games that inspire Tara Luz Danse’s creative process. The work, presented in different non-traditional performance sites, puts the spectator at the heart of the action.

Media feedback

“Just a few feet away from the dancers, under cold neon lights, we hear the hammering of their steps and their heavy breath, we are moved by their movement, struck by a physical empathy for their efforts. […] We observe repetition building rhythm, unison creating strength, gestures and music complementing or contrasting each other, solos becoming a chorus…” Jacques Falquet, Revue Liaison, No 155, Spring 2012.

Production credits

Choreographer: Anik Bouvrette
Dancers: Amanda Bon, Christine Couture and Mélissa Roy
Accompanist and Composer: Philippe Charbonneau
Photographer: Mathieu Grainger

Hippopotame

2009

  • Hippopotame

  • Tournée2014_Sudbury_17

  • Tournée2014_Sudbury_25

Une rencontre avec l’improvisation en danse

Hippopotame est une véritable expression de l’improvisation en danse contemporaine. L’œuvre transporte les danseuses dans une série de tableaux en mouvement où, unissant leur corps et leur instinct, elles se laissent guider par la musique. Avec chaque tableau une nouvelle improvisation est explorée.  (20 minutes)

Hippopotame est une œuvre d’improvisation structurée sur musique « live » qui a été créée à titre éducatif afin d’initier le jeune public aux jeux d’improvisation en mouvement qui inspirent le processus de création de Tara Luz Danse.L’œuvre, présentée dans différents lieu non traditionnels pour la danse, place le spectateur au cœur de l’action.

Échos de la presse

« Nous sommes à quelques pieds des danseuses, sous la lumière crue des néons. Nous entendons le martellement de leurs pas et leur souffle haletant, nous sommes bousculés par le basculement de leurs corps, saisie d’une empathie physique pour leurs efforts. Nous observons la répétition qui crée le rythme ; l’unisson qui donne la force ; les gestes et la musique qui se suivent ou s’opposent ; les solos qui se combinent pour former un chœur… » Jacques Falquet, Revue Liaison, No 155, printemps 2012.

Crédits de production

Chorégraphe : Anik Bouvrette
Danseuses : Amanda Bon, Christine Couture et Mélissa Roy
Musicien accompagnateur et compositeur : Philippe Charbonneau
Photographe : Mathieu Grainger