Les souliers d’Angélie

2013

  • Les souliers d'Angélie

  • Les souliers d'Angélie

  • Les souliers d'Angélie

  • Les souliers d'Angélie

  • Angelie2013_W0A1635

A playful performance for families

Angélie is a colourful, playful character with a penchant for footwear! In Les souliers d’Angélie (Angélie’s shoes), along with her three closest friends, she surrounds herself with shoes and a whole array of objects that, one after another, transport them into a universe filled with surprises, discoveries and light. With each new pair of shoes, the group is launched into another astonishing movement adventure. (55 minutes)

While creating this work, Anik Bouvrette asked the dancers to bring into the studio an object from their daily lives beginning with the letter ‘S’. This is how the shoe came to be the central object guiding Angélie and her friends on their journey. The game also inspired the choreographer to integrate other objects into the work, such as handkerchiefs, a cob of corn, lemons and more, in a universe celebrating the beauty of absurdity.

Media and audience feedback

“In Les souliers d’Angélie, various objects are drawn into the dance, offering us surprises and discoveries: rain boots, stiletto heels, sandals, a saucepan, a cob of corn that Angélie bites into with gusto… The choreography contains all the gestural, artistic and aesthetic elements characteristic of Bouvrette’s work, but above all, it links creativity and play.” Josette Noreau, Liaison, # 163, Spring  2014.

“I was particularly struck by the absurdity in Les souliers d’Angélie, which transported us into another universe… The choreography led me to think about the way a colour or even an object, can create a world of its own…. All you have to do is tune in to your environment to discover limitless imaginary worlds, like d’Angélie’s.” Mathilde, 15 years old, 2013.

Production credits

Choreographer: Anik Bouvrette
Dancers: Amanda Bon, Amelia Griffin, Martine Larochelle and Mélissa Roy
Composer: Ted Hamilton
Lighting Designer: Paul Auclair
Set Work : Karen Goetzinger
Costume Designer: Patricia Nuell
Mentor: Sylvie Bouchard
Production Assistant and Illustrator: Reid McLachlan
Stage Manager: Christine Couture
Photographer: Jeremy Mimnagh

Les souliers d’Angélie

2013

  • Les souliers d'Angélie

  • Les souliers d'Angélie

  • Les souliers d'Angélie

  • Les souliers d'Angélie

  • Angelie2013_W0A1635

Un spectacle ludique pour tous les membres de la famille

Angélie est un personnage coloré et ludique qui adore les souliers! Accompagnée de ses trois consœurs, elle s’entoure de souliers et d’une panoplie d’objets qui, de fil en aiguille, les mènent au sein d’un univers rempli de surprises, de découvertes et de luminosité. Avec chaque nouvelle paire de souliers, Angélie et ses consœurs s’envolent dans une nouvelle aventure en mouvement des plus étonnantes. (55 minutes)

Pour la création de l’œuvre, Anik Bouvrette a demandé aux danseuses d’amener en studio un objet du quotidien commençant par une lettre donnée comme « s ». C’est ainsi que le soulier s’est découvert comme objet central guidant Angélie et ses consœurs dans leur aventure en mouvement. Anik Bouvrette s’est aussi inspirée de ce jeu pour intégrer à l’œuvre d’autres objets comme des mouchoirs, un épi de maïs, des citrons, etc. et ainsi créer un univers sans censure où la beauté de l’absurde prend tout son sens.

Échos de la presse et du public

« Dans Les souliers d’Angélie, divers objets entrent « dans la danse », nous procurent surprises et découvertes : bottes de pluie, escarpins à talons aiguilles, sandales, casserole, un épi de maïs dans lequel Angélie mord à belles dents… On y retrouve tout ce qui caractérise l’œuvre de Bouvrette sur le plan gestuel, artistique et esthétique, mais d’abord et avant tout, le lien entre jeu et créativité. » Josette Noreau, Revue Liaison, No 163, Printemps 2014.

« Les souliers d’Angélie m’a particulièrement marqué par son absurdité qui nous plonge dans un autre univers… La pièce m’a porté à réfléchir sur la manière qu’une couleur, voire même un objet, peut créer tout un monde en soi… Il suffit de se laisser porter par notre environnement pour découvrir un infini de mondes imaginaires, comme celui d’Angélie. » Mathilde, 15 ans, 2013.

Crédits de production

Chorégraphe : Anik Bouvrette
Danseuses : Amanda Bon, Amelia Griffin, Martine Larochelle et Mélissa Roy
Compositeur : Ted Hamilton
Éclairagiste : Paul Auclair
Œuvres visuelles : Karen Goetzinger
Costumière : Patricia Nuell
Mentor : Sylvie Bouchard
Assistant à la production et illustrateur : Reid McLachlan
Régisseur : Christine Couture
Photographe : Jeremy Mimnagh