Ludivine et Sariana en galerie

2011

  • Ludivine en galerie

  • Sariana2011_0655

A collaboration between dance and visual arts

Ludivine et Sariana en galerie (Ludivine and Sariana in the gallery) brings together two solos – Ludivine (created for the stage in 2003 and adapted for the intimate spaces of small art galleries in 2007) and Sariana, sœur aînée de Ludivine (Sariana, Ludivine’s older sister, 2011) – and Récits (é)mouvants (moving stories), an exhibition of visual artist Reid McLachlan’s paintings. It is a unique collaboration between disciplines that gives spectators a different perspective on the choreography and the exhibition. The work connects a dance about a woman at different moments in her life, at different points in time, with paintings that explore themes of faith, destiny, love and mourning, and their consequences on relationships. (50 minutes)

Media and audience feedback

“As soon as the dancer enters the exhibition space in Récits (é)mouvants, new relationships are formed, unexpected lines of communications are opened and the environment changes. The characters in the paintings seem to react to the proximity of the dancer, to the way she observes them. Through her movements, she gives them life and a chance to speak. The stories are delivered through the dance…” Josette Noreau, Liaison, No 152, Summer 2011.

“There is something sublime about the excerpt of Ludivine presented at Art-image gallery. The choreography embraces the space. The dancer interacts with the paintings. It seems as though she has just stepped out of Reid McLachlan’s paintings.” Marie Hélène Giguère, Exhibition Spaces Coordinator, Centre d’exposition Art-image, Maison de la culture de Gatineau, 2008.

Production credits

Choreographer: Anik Bouvrette
Visual Artist: Reid McLachlan
Dancers: Jacqueline Ethier and Julie Anne Ryan
Composers: Josh Latour and Ted Hamilton
Costume Designers: Carole Courtois and Patricia Nuell
Texts: Brigitte Paulin, Danièle Vallée, Françoise Charron and Julie Anne Ryan
Photographer: Michel Dozois

Ludivine et Sariana en galerie

2011

  • Ludivine en galerie

  • Sariana2011_0655

Une collaboration entre la danse et les arts visuels

Ludivine et Sariana en galerie est un projet qui unit les deux solos Ludivine (créé pour la scène en 2003 et adaptée pour l’espace intime de petites galeries en 2007) et  Sariana, sœur aînée de Ludivine (2011) à l’exposition Récits (é)mouvants et les tableaux de l’artiste visuel Reid McLachlan. C’est une collaboration unique entre disciplines qui amène le spectateur à porter un regard différent sur la chorégraphie et l’exposition. L’œuvre met en relation la danse qui évoque une femme à différentes époques de sa vie et à différentes époques dans le temps; et les toiles qui explorent les thèmes de la foi, du destin, de l’amour, du deuil et de leurs conséquences sur les relations. (50 minutes)

Échos de la presse et du public

« Dès que la danseuse entre dans l’espace d’exposition de Récits (é)mouvants, de nouvelles relations sont créées, des voies de communication inattendues s’ouvrent, l’environnement change. Les personnages sur les toiles semblent réagir à la proximité de la danseuse, au regard qu’elle porte sur eux.  Par ses mouvements, elle leur donne vie et leur cède la parole. Les récits sont livrés par la danse… » Josette Noreau, Revue Liaison, No 152, été 2011.

« L’extrait de Ludivine présenté à Art-image, a ce quelque chose de sublime. La chorégraphie épouse le lieu. La danseuse interagit avec les œuvres. On la dirait sortie directement des tableaux de Reid McLachlan. » Marie Hélène Giguère, Coordonnatrice des espaces d’exposition, Centre d’exposition Art-image, Maison de la culture de Gatineau, 2008.

Crédits de production

Chorégraphe : Anik Bouvrette
Artiste visuel : Reid McLachlan
Danseuses : Jacqueline Ethier et Julie Anne Ryan
Compositeurs : Josh Latour et Ted Hamilton
Costumières : Carole Courtois et Patricia Nuell
Textes : Brigitte Paulin, Danièle Vallée, Françoise Charron et Julie Anne Ryan
Photographe : Michel Dozois